Advisory in corporate governance and the recruitment of Board directors 

Twitter LinkedIn E-mail RSS
formats

Aliath reviews the accounts of four business leaders and entrepreneurs particularly well-inspired in the early part of the year

Aliath reviews the accounts of four business leaders and entrepreneurs characterised by their courage, daring, and vision, and who were particularly well-inspired in the early part of the year. These are men who champion the values of human resources in a business environment and are keen to turn complex human issues (diversity, fragility) into a source of strength in the face of adversity and a key component of collective performance. Judge for yourself…

Women, the future of crisis negotiation?

Aliath reviews the breakfast meeting ‘Women & Business’ organised by l’Expansion, February 2013

Laurent Combalbert (*), former member of the RAID (the elite corps of the police force) and currently a crisis negotiator, was the keynote speaker at the event “Why men and women negotiate differently?” Convinced that women add value to an environment that has remained exclusively male-dominated for too long –the RAID, he provides a subtle and uninhibited analysis of how men and women complement each other when the differences between the two genders are appreciated.

For instance, he draws an interesting parallel between the prejudices and collective thinking that prevails around the image of a business leader and a member of the RAID. They convey notions of strength, sometimes physical difficulties, and risk-taking, which tend to penalise the emergence of women to this kind of position; whereas other notions that are just as essential are entirely overlooked (empathy, emotion, understanding of the situation, etc).

His motto: if the masculine side does not shy away from risk, the feminine side permits itself to express emotions, which lead to intuition. He concludes by indicating that gender diversity is a major asset in complex negotiations and he praises wholeheartedly the merits of mixed gender teams as they prove to be extremely efficient in the field.

 (*)Laurent Combalbert, a reserve police officer, is an experienced crisis negotiator. He was part of the RAID for many years.

***

What does not kill you makes you stronger, particularly when you can count on collective strength!

Aliath attended the breakfast meeting of the Grand Lille in Paris, March 2013

Gontran Lejeune was the main speaker of the association “The Grand Lille in Paris” on the theme “What if acknowledging and accepting fragility generated strength?” His speech, full of modesty, is a source of inspiration, both through the messages conveyed and the underlying human values.

He describes how his life tipped over on the day his flourishing fresh poultry trading company was hit full blown by the avian flu crisis in 2006. In a matter of weeks, sales tumbled and the situation became critical. He resisted lay-offs initially but knew he would not hold out for long. He was tempted to break away in denial of a situation that was out of his control, until he reached a moment of truth. He speaks of an electric shock, where others will rightly see the courage of a man who takes his fate into his own hands. He gathered together his employees and in full transparency he told them of the seriousness of the situation, even admitting his own powerlessness to find a solution.

His honesty was bold –few business leaders would have exposed themselves this way, but it was nonetheless a call to the collective soul that resulted in a quick respond. Within a few hours, the employees, feeling entrusted and empowered, got together to find a new strategy for the company. It was eventually saved with the support of the entire workforce and the vision of an extraordinary business leader who understood that there is a lot of agility in fragility.

From this experience, Gontran Lejeune developed a responsible management approach summarised in four points:

  • The key to money, which argues in favour of a transparent relationship to financial issues within the company, correlated with a twin assessment of both individual and collective performance.
  • The key to us, which values the strength of collective endeavour when it is called upon in trust and sincerity.
  • The key to freedom, which underscores the importance of the Relationship between the company and its environment, particularly its responsibility to the workforce over time.
  • The key to others, which highlights the importance of the local support that a company provides to its business ecosystem (schools, training, etc).

 (*) Gontran Lejeune if the former Chairman and CEO of the family-owned business Lejeune. He was the 30th president of the Centre of Young Business Leaders (2008-2010). He is currently an associate director with the recruitment firm Bienfait & Associés, and a member of the Economic and Social Council.

***

To never give up is to give yourself the means to succeed.

Aliath feedback on the Women Business Leaders conference, March 2013

Nicolas Doucerain was the guest speaker of the conference entitled “In a crisis, develop the right instincts”. It is a theme he knows well, having experienced it and written about it in his book “My small company survived the crisis”. Having experienced annual growth rates of nearly 40%, his company Solic came to an abrupt stop in 2008 as a result of the financial crisis. In short, both sales and orders were cut in half.

After a period of shock, he reduced salaries –starting with his own, he cancelled all benefits and had to lay off colleagues. In 2009, after three lay-off plans, losses continued to worsen and debts started to build up. It is then that he took a decision in full conscience and against the advice of others. He put Solic into receivership and announced his objective to turn it around within 6 months.

The man, a self-made business leader, is nonetheless a shrewd entrepreneur. He made a firm commitment quickly followed by material and unusual measures. On the day he went into Chapter 11, he called all his clients and fully disclosed the company’s situation and his future projects. It was a crazy, daring bet, which succeeded when his clients agreed to commit alongside him and to support the project. The company survived the crisis.

Nicolas Doucerain draws several lessons from this experience about the role of a responsible entrepreneur in a time of crisis.

1)      He must be exemplary and set an example

2)      He must be able to develop short-term projects that work towards maintaining an internal dynamic. Having projects is having prospects. It is something to think about, it generates confidence in the future.

3)      He must be able to turn complex issues into simple matters and to focusing on the essential.

4)      He must give meaning, lead the company on.

5)      He must demonstrate authority and determination to ensure that the project becomes a reality and succeeds.

 (*) Nicolas Doucerain is the Chairman and CEO of the Solic group, a recruitment and human resources firm. He is an expert columnist on BFM and a blogger on “Our SMEs have talent”.

***

Open the economy up to women for more diversity, fairness and novelty

Aliath took part in the forum “Let us dare France”, April 2013

François Pérol was invited at the Forum “Let us dare France” to talk about opening up the economy to women. Committed for many years to gender equality, he stands out for having expressed his views unreservedly and implemented them within the BPCE, which includes two women out of six members on the Executive Committee and six women out of twenty on the Management Committee. These figures are significant given that management committees are still largely male-dominated and unlike Boards, they are not required by law to include more women.

He does not believe that management is gender-dependent, arguing that “it makes no difference […], what is important for a business leader is to have courage, vision and empathy”. That said, he campaigns for having more women in management positions for two simple reasons. The first one has to do with diversity and its intrinsic wealth, “it is necessary to resist the recruitment of people who resemble us, […] I am allergic to men-only clubs”. The second reason is one of fairness and future, “a modern society is not an exclusively male one, our children do not wish it so.”

Convinced that the arrival of women in key management roles is a fair and necessary long-term trend, albeit one where progress is slow, he invites business leaders to commit further, by setting precise targets that are regularly monitored. He even encourages business leaders to impose upon themselves to always be in a position to consider women for key management positions (for instance, to ensure that for every vacant management position there is at least one female candidate, etc). He concludes by highlighting the need to keep a close eye on the place of women in key positions across the business world and to continue to act in support of the long-term trend that will become the reality of modern societies within a few years.

 (*) François Perol is Chairman of the Board of the BPCE.

Dominique Druon, 30 avril 2013

credit
© 2012 Aliath - All rights reserved

Conseil en gouvernance et recrutement d’administrateurs 

Twitter LinkedIn E-mail RSS
formats

Aliath revient sur quatre témoignages marquants d’entrepreneurs et dirigeants de ce début 2013

Aliath revient sur quatre témoignages d’entrepreneurs et dirigeants courageux, audacieux, visionnaires et particulièrement inspirés de ce début d’année 2013. De ces hommes qui portent haut les valeurs de l’entreprise humaine et mettent un point d’honneur à faire de la complexité humaine (diversité, fragilité) une force contre l’adversité, un élément central de la performance collective. Jugez plutôt…

Les femmes, l’avenir de la négociation de crise ?

Aliath revient sur le petit-déjeuner Femmes et Business de l’Expansion, février 2013

Laurent Combalbert (*), ancien membre du RAID devenu négociateur de crise, était l’invité du débat « pourquoi les hommes et les femmes ne négocient pas de la même façon ? ».  Convaincu de l’apport des femmes au sein d’un univers longtemps exclusivement masculin – le RAID, il livre une analyse fine et décomplexée de la complémentarité hommes/femmes en valorisant les différences des deux sexes.

Il fait notamment un parallèle intéressant entre les préjugés et l’inconscient collectif qui existent autour de l’image du chef d’entreprise et celle du membre du RAID. Ce sont les mêmes notions de force, de difficultés parfois physiques et de risques qui sont véhiculées et qui tendent à pénaliser l’arrivée des femmes à ce type de responsabilité, alors même que d’autres notions toutes aussi essentielles sont totalement occultées (empathie, émotion, compréhension du contexte…).

Son crédo : si le masculin ne craint pas le risque, le féminin, lui, s’autorise l’émotion ; or, c’est l’émotion qui porte l’intuition. Il conclut en indiquant que la mixité est un atout majeur dans la négociation de situations complexes et vante sans réserve les mérites des équipes mixtes qui s’avèrent extrêmement efficaces sur le terrain.

(*) Laurent Combalbert, officier de police en situation de disponibilité est un négociateur de crise chevronné. Il a fait partie du RAID pendant de nombreuses années.

***

Ce qui ne tue pas rend plus fort, surtout quand on peut compter sur la force du collectif !

Aliath a assisté au petit-déjeuner du Grand Lille à Paris, mars 2013

Gontran Lejeune était l’invité de l’association « Le Grand Lille à Paris » sur le thème : « Et si reconnaître et accepter sa fragilité était une force ? ». Son témoignage, plein d’humilité, force l’exemple, à la fois, par les messages qu’il transmet et les valeurs humaines qui le sous-tendent.

Il raconte comment sa vie a basculé le jour où son entreprise de négoce de volailles fraiches, jusqu’alors florissante, est frappée de plein fouet par la grippe aviaire – 2006. En un rien de temps, le chiffre d’affaires de l’entreprise dégringole et la situation devient critique. S’il se refuse à licencier, il sait qu’il ne tiendra pas longtemps. Il est tenté de s’isoler, plein de déni pour un contexte qui lui échappe et puis il y a ce déclic. Il parle d’électrochoc, là où d’autres verront surtout le courage d’un homme qui prend son destin en mains. Il réunit tous ses salariés et en totale transparence ne leur cache rien de la gravité de la situation avouant même sa propre impuissance à trouver une solution.

La démarche est osée – le dirigeant s’est exposé comme peu l’auraient fait, elle n’en est pas moins un formidable appel au collectif qui ne se fait pas attendre pour réagir. En quelques heures, le corps social de l’entreprise, mis en confiance, responsabilisé, se mobilise pour penser une nouvelle stratégie pour l’entreprise. Elle sera finalement sauvée grâce au concours de tous et surtout d’un dirigeant hors pair qui aura compris qu’il y a beaucoup d’agilité dans la fragilité.

De cette expérience, Gontran Lejeune a développé une approche du management responsable en 4 clés :

  • la clé des sous, qui prône une relation transparente à l’argent dans l’entreprise corrélée à une double évaluation de la performance individuelle et collective.
  • la clé du nous, qui met en exergue la force du collectif à condition de le mobiliser en confiance et avec sincérité.
  • la clé des champs, qui souligne l’importance de la relation de l’entreprise avec son environnement et notamment sa responsabilité générationnelle.
  • la clé des autres, qui insiste sur l’importance d’une solidarité de proximité de l’entreprise avec son écosystème d’affaires (écoles, formation…).

(*) Gontran Lejeune est l’ancien PDG de la PME familiale Lejeune. Il a été le 30ème président du Centre des Jeunes Dirigeants (CJD, 2008/2010). Il est actuellement directeur associé du cabinet de recrutement Bienfait & Associés, et membre du Conseil Economique et Social.

***

Ne jamais renoncer, c’est se donner les moyens de réussir.

Retour d’Aliath sur la conférence Femmes Chefs d’Entreprises, Mars 2013

Nicolas Doucerain était l’invité de la conférence intitulée « Face à la crise, ayez les bons réflexes ». Un thème qu’il connaît bien pour l’avoir vécu et raconté dans son livre « Ma petite entreprise a connu la crise ». C’était en 2008, son entreprise, Solic, habituée à des taux de croissance avoisinant les 40% par an se voit stoppée net par la crise financière. En quelques mois, son chiffre d’affaires est divisé par deux, tout comme son carnet de commandes.

Passé le choc, il réduit les salaires – à commencer par le sien, il supprime tous les avantages et se voit contraint de licencier. En 2009, après trois vagues de licenciements, les pertes continuent de s’aggraver et la trésorerie passe dans le rouge. C’est alors qu’en son âme et conscience il prend une décision contraire à l’avis général. Il prépare la mise en redressement judiciaire de Solic et annonce son objectif de redresser l’entreprise sous 6 mois.

L’homme, dirigeant autodictate, n’en est pas moins un fin entrepreneur. Il a pris un engagement fort qu’il va accompagner de suite d’actions concrètes et peu habituelles. Le jour même du dépôt de bilan, il appelle tous ses clients et fait toute la transparence sur la situation de son entreprise et ses projets d’avenir. Le pari est fou, peut-être osé aussi, il devient gagnant quand ses clients décident de s’engager à ses côtés et de soutenir le projet. L’entreprise passera la crise.

De cette expérience, Nicolas Doucerain a tiré plusieurs enseignements sur le rôle d’un entrepreneur responsable en temps de crise.

  1. Il doit être exemplaire et montrer l’exemple.
  2. Il doit savoir bâtir des projets à très court-terme qui contribuent à entretenir la dynamique interne. Avoir des projets, c’est avoir une perspective. Cela donne à penser, cela motive la confiance en l’avenir.
  3. Il doit être capable de rendre simple ce qui est compliqué et de se focaliser sur l’essentiel.
  4. Il doit donner du sens, réenchanter l’entreprise.
  5. Il doit faire preuve d’autorité et de rigueur pour que le projet devienne réalité et succès.

(*) Nicolas Doucerain est le PDG du groupe Solic, cabinet de conseil en recrutement et en ressources humaines. Il est chroniqueur expert sur BFM et animateur du blog « Nos PME ont du talent ».

***

Féminiser l’économie pour plus de diversité, d’équité et de modernité

Aliath a participé au Forum « Osons la France », Avril 2013

François Pérol était l’invité du Forum « Osons la France » pour parler de la féminisation de l’économie. Engagé de longue date en faveur de l’égalité hommes/femmes, il a le mérite de l’avoir exprimé sans tabous et mis en œuvre au sein notamment de BPCE qui compte aujourd’hui deux femmes sur six au Comité de Direction Générale et six femmes sur vingt au Comité Exécutif. Des chiffres significatifs lorsque l’on sait que les comités exécutifs, non contraints par la loi à la différence des conseils d’administration ou de surveillance, restent encore très peu féminisés.

S’il ne croît pas à un exercice sexué du métier de dirigeant, « il n’y a pas de différence […], l’important pour un dirigeant est d’avoir du courage, de la vision et de l’empathie », il milite pour qu’il y ait plus de femmes aux postes de responsabilité pour deux raisons simples. La première raison porte sur la diversité et sa richesse intrinsèque, « il faut combattre le fait de recruter des gens qui nous ressemblent […] je suis allergique aux clubs d’hommes ». La seconde est une raison d’équité et d’avenir, « une société moderne n’est pas une société réservée aux hommes, nos enfants ne le désirent pas ».

Convaincu que la féminisation des postes à responsabilité est une tendance de fond juste et nécessaire mais où les progrès sont encore timides, il invite les dirigeants à s’engager plus avant, en se fixant des objectifs précis et régulièrement mesurés. Il incite même les dirigeants à se contraindre au choix pour être toujours en mesure de proposer aux femmes des postes à responsabilités (ex : s’assurer que pour tout poste à responsabilités vacant, il y a au moins une femme candidate, etc.). Il conclut en insistant sur la nécessité de ne pas baisser la garde sur la place des femmes aux plus hautes instances de l’économie et de continuer de pousser le mouvement de fond qui sera d’ici quelques années une réalité des sociétés modernes.

(*) François Perol est Président du directoire de BPCE.

Dominique Druon, 30 avril 2013

credit
© 2012 Aliath - Tous droits réservés