Advisory in corporate governance and the recruitment of Board directors 

Twitter LinkedIn E-mail RSS
formats

Aliath feedback on the last events of 2012 celebrating entrepeneurship

Aliath feedback on the last events of 2012 celebrating entrepeneurship

During the 2012 year-end period, Aliath attended four major events in the world of entrepreneurship in France: the SME Let’s Get Moving Trophies (22nd October), the Ernst & Young – L’Express Entrepreneur of the Year Award (25th October), the BFM Awards (12th November), and the La Tribune Women’s Awards (3rd December). Aliath also attended the annual convention of the Association of Independent Professional Directors, APIA) on 4th December.

In the wake of its assessment of corporate governance for SMEs, Aliath looked into the characteristics shared by the various entrepreneurs rewarded at the events celebrating entrepreneurship and the success of a few model companies. While it if often said that “luck favours the brave”, the success of the award winners of the last few months can be traced back to a few criteria that are far from random.

These successful companies and these example-setting entrepreneurs are characterised by the embodiment of the company by its manager, a total commitment aimed at the long term, a genuine capacity to take risks, and unique human qualities. If there is to be a single illustration of Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR), it is the example set by these men and women who act day in, day out for the social interest of their companies, and through them, of their entire professional ecosystem.

Aliath is keen to review several highlights of the awards ceremonies that acknowledged the 2012 most deserving entrepreneurs:

Highlight 1: LIPPI (www.lippi.fr), winner of the SME Let’s Get Moving award in the “Family Company” category

This 250-strong company, specialised in fence and enclosure solutions for nearly 50 years, is a match for any large corporation. Managed by the two grandsons of the founder, Julien and Frederic Lippi, this third generation family company sets a good example with the relocation of its production in France, its training programme on new technologies for all employees and the 30% of its turnover achieved abroad. Its assets? Managers who have developed a corporate culture of trust that encourages the internal initiatives of its employee, as well as a strong entrepreneurial state of mind. This is captured in the forward-looking definition of LIPPI’s business, “To Reinvent Freedom Areas”.

Highlight 2: Jean-Luc Petithuguenin, President of PAPREC (www.paprec.com), Entrepreneur of the Year Award

The Entrepreneur of the Year Award bestowed on Jean-Luc Petithuguenin rewarded the development and success of his medium-sized company –2500 employees, specialised in waste recycling and reprocessing –but more importantly, it brought to light a very special man and manager. His uniqueness lays in his strong ambition “to become a French leader”, his noteworthy boldness –for over 20 years, he has consistently reinvested his profits to finance the growth of the company –and his values, which include first and foremost the strong promotion of diversity across the group. “I would find it unbearable to manage a company which only employs 35-year old men with post-graduate degrees.”

Highlight 3: Jean-Marc Gaucher, Chairman and CEO of REPETTO (www.repetto.com), BFM 2012 Entrepreneur Award

What makes the Entrepreneur Award special is that it rewards an entrepreneur whose success has been particularly striking over the past twelve months. Repetto is remarkable in this case. Founded in 1947, the company was close to bankrupt when it was taken over by Jean-Marc Gaucher in 1999. Thirteen years later, its turnover has grown tenfold to reach €60 million, the company employs 300 people, and its achievements are spectacular –such as the recent opening of a new factory inDordogne.

A secret to share? Behind the man, a genuine self-taught business man, lies an outstanding entrepreneur who was able to reposition his company on a high-end segment backed by the world of ballet. He was familiar neither with ballet nor with its flagship product, ballet shoes, but regardless, he understood its codes –a passion, a dream –its strict requirements –rigour and a love for a job well done –and he applied them across the board. Today, his company exports toChinaand has just launched a clothing line.

Highlight 4: Nathalie Lebas-Vautier, Cofounder and CEO of EKYOG (www.ekyog.com), winner of the Women’s Award in the “Green Business” category

At the Women’s Awards, female entrepreneurs are rewarded and it is worth noting that there are many more of them in top management positions, running successful start-ups as well as large international corporations. With a passion for fashion and management, Nathalie Lebas-Vauthier dared to go off the beaten track and invented a new business model in the demanding world of fashion, with a view to offering products that are both eco-friendly and beautiful. A growth model based on a business model that promotes the human factor and a shared ambition.

Highlight 5: The APIA annual convention on the theme “Independent Directors and Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) in SMEs”

It was a shared concern and a strong asset of the different awards given out this year to entrepreneurs, andAPIAhit the right tone with the theme selected for its annual convention. CSR is undeniably a differentiating performance driver for companies. It was remarkably well illustrated by Olivier de Guerre, President of the investment management firm PhilTrust Active Investors. He highlighted the positive impact of social and environmental innovation on performance but also on corporate strategy. By fomenting greater employee support in favour of the corporate project, CSR creates a fantastic opportunity for the manager to establish a novel relationship with shareholders around innovative, extra-financial and medium-term goals. Meanwhile, in this new backdrop, independent directors find the necessary breadth and scope to exercise fully their role within the board.

credit
© 2012 Aliath - All rights reserved

Conseil en gouvernance et recrutement d’administrateurs 

Twitter LinkedIn E-mail RSS
formats

Retour d’Aliath sur les derniers événements de 2012 célébrant l’entrepreneuriat

En cette fin d’année 2012, Aliath s’est rendu à quatre événements majeurs dans le monde de l’entrepreneuriat en France : les Trophées PME Bougeons-nous (22 octobre), le Prix de l’Entrepreneur de l’Année d’Ernst & Young – L’Express (25 octobre), les BFM Awards (12 novembre), les Women’s Awards de La Tribune (03 décembre). Aliath a également assisté à la convention annuelle de l’Association des Administrateurs Professionnels Indépendants Associés (APIA), le 04 décembre.

Dans le sillage de ses réflexions sur la gouvernance des ETI/PME, Aliath s’est intéressé à décrypter les points communs entre tous les entrepreneurs mis en lumière, lors des différents événements célébrant l’entrepreneuriat et le succès de quelques entreprises exemplaires. S’il est commun de dire que « la chance sourit aux audacieux », le succès des lauréats récompensés ces derniers mois répond lui aussi à quelques critères qui ne viennent pas du hasard.

Derrière ces entreprises qui performent, ces entrepreneurs qui montrent l’exemple, il y a cette posture qui se caractérise par une incarnation de l’entreprise par son dirigeant, un engagement total qui vise le long terme, une capacité réelle à prendre des risques, et des qualités humaines exemplaires. S’il est bien une illustration de la Responsabilité Sociétale d’Entreprise (RSE), c’est l’exemple que montrent ces femmes et ces hommes en agissant au quotidien pour l’intérêt social de leurs entreprises et, à travers elles, de tout leur écosystème d’affaires.

Aliath a souhaité revenir sur plusieurs des temps forts qui auront accompagné la remise des prix aux entrepreneurs méritants de 2012 :

Temps fort n°1 : LIPPI (www.lippi.fr), le lauréat du Trophée PME Bougeons-nous dans la catégorie « Entreprise Familiale »

La PME – 250 salariés, spécialisée dans les solutions de clôture depuis près de 50 ans, n’a vraiment rien à envier aux plus grands. Dirigée par les deux petits-fils du fondateur, Julien et Frédéric Lippi, cette entreprise familiale de 3ème génération, a de quoi montrer l’exemple avec sa relocalisation de la production en France, son programme de formation pour tous les salariés aux nouvelles technologies et 30% de son chiffre d’affaires réalisés à l’international. Ses atouts ? Des dirigeants qui ont développé une culture de la confiance qui encourage les initiatives internes de leurs salariés, ainsi qu’un état d’esprit entrepreneurial fort que l’on retrouve dans leur définition prospective du métier de LIPPI : « Réinventer des Espaces de Liberté« .

Temps fort n°2 : Jean-Luc Petithuguenin, Président de PAPREC (www.paprec.com), Prix de l’Entrepreneur de l’Année

Le Prix de l’Entrepreneur de l’année décerné à Jean-Luc Petithuguenin, a récompensé le développement et le succès de son ETI – 2500 salariés, spécialiste du recyclage et de la valorisation des déchets, mais elle a surtout mis en lumière un homme, un patron exemplaire. Une exemplarité déclinée autour d’une ambition forte « je veux devenir un champion français« , d’une audace particulièrement remarquable – l’homme a depuis 20 ans toujours réinvesti les bénéfices réalisés pour financer le développement de son entreprise, et de principes, dont la promotion forte de la diversité au sein de l’entreprise est l’un des premiers « je trouve toujours insupportable une société où il n’y aurait que des hommes bac+5, âgés de 35 ans« .

Temps fort n°3 : Jean-Marc Gaucher, PDG de REPETTO (www.repetto.com), BFM Award de l’Entrepreneur 2012

La particularité de l’Award de l’Entrepreneur est de récompenser un entrepreneur dont la réussite s’est particulièrement illustrée au cours des douze derniers mois. Le cas de Repetto est à ce titre remarquable. L’entreprise, créée en 1947, est au bord de la faillite quand elle est reprise en 1999 par Jean-Marc Gaucher. 13 ans plus tard, le chiffre d’affaires a été multiplié par 10 pour atteindre 60 millions d’euros, l’entreprise compte 300 salariés et ses performances sont jugées exceptionnelles – inauguration toute récente d’une usine en Dordogne.

Un secret à partager ? Derrière l’homme, véritable autodidacte du monde des affaires, se cache un entrepreneur hors pair qui a su repositionner son entreprise vers un segment haut de gamme adossé à l’univers de la danse. Un univers, la danse, qu’il ne connaissait pas, pas plus que son produit, la ballerine ; mais qu’importe, il en a compris les codes – la passion, le rêve, il en a su les exigences et les a appliquées – la rigueur, l’amour du travail bien fait. Aujourd’hui, son entreprise s’exporte en Chine et vient de lancer une gamme de vêtements.

Temps fort n°4 : Nathalie Lebas-Vautier, Cofondatrice et Directrice générale d’EKYOG (www.ekyog.com), lauréate des Women’s Award, catégorie « Green business »

Aux Women’s Awards, ce sont les femmes entrepreneurs qui sont à l’honneur et le constat est qu’elles sont aujourd’hui plus nombreuses à occuper des postes à responsabilités, à embrasser des carrières à la tête des start-up d’avenir comme des grands groupes à l’international. Nathalie Lebas-Vauthier, passionnée de mode et de management, n’a pas hésité à sortir des sentiers battus et à réinventer un modèle économique dans le monde de la mode, si exigeant, afin d’offrir des produits à la fois écologiques et esthétiques. Un modèle de développement porté par un modèle d’entreprise tourné vers l’humain et le projet collectif.

Temps fort n°5 : La convention annuelle de l’APIA sur le thème « l’administrateur indépendant et la responsabilité sociétale des entreprises (RSE) en ETI/PME »

C’était un point commun et un atout fort des différents prix remis cette année aux entrepreneurs et l’APIA ne s’y est pas trompé avec le thème défini pour sa convention annuelle. La RSE est indéniablement un facteur de performance discriminant pour les entreprises. Cela a d’ailleurs été largement illustré par Olivier de Guerre, Président de la société de gestion PhilTrust Active Investors, précisant l’impact positif de l’innovation sociale et environnementale sur la performance mais aussi sur la stratégie de l’entreprise. En permettant une meilleure adhésion des salariés au projet d’entreprise, la RSE constitue une formidable opportunité pour le dirigeant d’établir de nouvelles relations avec ses actionnaires autour d’enjeux innovants, extra financiers et de moyen terme. De son côté, l’administrateur indépendant trouve dans ce nouveau contexte une latitude réelle pour donner tout son sens à son rôle au sein des conseils.

Dominique Druon, 10 décembre 2012

credit
© 2012 Aliath - Tous droits réservés