Advisory in corporate governance and the recruitment of Board directors 

Twitter LinkedIn E-mail RSS
formats

Women ‘s Forum 2012 Feedback

Feedback from the Women’s Forum

After three days of debates and discussions between women of all walks of life (business women, politicians, artists or activists), with a special focus on Africa, the eighth edition of the Women’s Forum in Deauville came to an end of October 12th. “Wanted: 360° growth” was the theme of the global meeting, in reference to both women’s causes around the world and the new models of growth that are emerging in response to the change in economic paradigm. As an advocate for corporate governance and a recruiter of women directors for tomorrow’s boards, Aliath attended the meeting in Deauville to listen to, meet with and present its approach to women in the boardroom. On this occasion, Aliath disclosed its declaration of principles (Download the document in English).

                       

Two workshops were of particular interest to Aliath: “Women in the boardroom inFrance” and “Growth strategies in periods of crisis”.

Women in the boardroom in France: change is under way

The 2011 Copé-Zimmerman law requires that listed companies include a minimum quota of women on their boards with two thresholds –20% in 2014, and 40% in 2017. Halfway through the first deadline and with the hindsight of several months, the result is rather encouraging as the boards of CAC 40 companies currently include 26.9% of women against 21.9% in SBF 120 companies.

Beyond these figures, the law has had a positive effect of healthy competition on unlisted companies. For instance, the Caisse des Dépôts et Consignations took the initiative to apply the law one year ahead of time to the whole of its 200 holdings. Its CEO has therefore implemented a process allowing management to identify women with high potential and support them through training to take up their first board position.

This example should inspire others, since the law concerns nearly 1,700 companies inFrance. With an average of 10 directors per board, 6,800 women will be sought to become board directors by 2017.

Growth strategies in periods of crisis: dare to change, the testimony of Denis Terrien, CEO of 3SI (3 Suisses International)

In periods of crisis, growth requires change. It is the only way to get through a difficult economic environment, and resisting change is somewhat akin to refusing growth, initially a source of new jobs and subsequently a source of new profit.

Beyond growth drivers, two concepts stand out today: innovation and cooperation. Innovation, to develop new market opportunities. Cooperation with partners, to develop new value chains that are more efficient and robust in times of crisis –without necessarily hampering competition. Today’s new economic paradigm requires that market players change and change quickly; by changing together, they multiply their means of action and their capacity to grow driven by innovation.

Underlying this capacity for change is the boldness of leaders who are prepared to rethink their economic models when the situation so requires. And so it was for 3SI. Being a latecomer to e-commerce, the company decided to change its strategy radically. It became within a few years a full service company, moving from a BtoC model to a combined BtoC and BtoB model.

What is the secret of this successful reconversion? The bold strategy of a leader, Denis Terrien, who decided to capitalise on the strong assets of the company –catalogue conception, call management, logistics –to convert them into offers aimed at its own competitors. By becoming the chain-link of a new industry, rather than a minor player in a very competitive market, 3SI has given itself the means to achieve sustainably profitable growth. A good example to follow in these difficult times.

Dominique Druon, 15 th october 2012

credit
© 2012 Aliath - All rights reserved

Conseil en gouvernance et recrutement d’administrateurs 

Twitter LinkedIn E-mail RSS
formats

Retour sur le Women’s Forum 2012

Après trois jours de débats et d’échanges entre femmes de différents horizons (femmes d’affaires, femmes politiques, femmes artistes ou militantes), avec un regard tout particulier porté sur l’Afrique, la huitième édition du Women’s Forum de Deauville a fermé ses portes le 12 octobre dernier. « Mettre les femmes au cœur d’une croissance  à 360°», tel a été le thème central de ce forum, autant sensibilisé par la cause des femmes dans le monde que, par les nouveaux modèles de croissance attendus en réponse au changement de paradigme économique. En tant qu’acteur du marché de la gouvernance et recruteur d’administratrices pour les conseils de demain, Aliath s’est rendu à Deauville pour écouter, rencontrer et présenter son approche des femmes dans les conseils. A cette occasion, Aliath a remis sa profession de foi rédigée pour l’occasion (télécharger le document).

Deux ateliers de travail ont particulièrement retenu l’attention d’Aliath : « Les femmes dans les conseils d’administration en France » et « Les stratégies de croissance en temps de crise ».

Les femmes dans les conseils d’administration en France : le changement est en marche

La loi Copé-Zimmerman de 2011 impose aux entreprises cotées un quota de femmes dans les conseils d’administration ou de surveillance avec deux paliers – 20%, puis 40% en 2017. A mi-parcours et avec le recul de plusieurs mois de mise en œuvre, le résultat est plutôt encourageant, les conseils des sociétés du CAC 40 comptent actuellement 26,9% de femmes contre 21,5% dans les sociétés du SBF 120.

Un résultat qui n’en reste pas là, puisqu’un effet positif d’entrainement a été constaté auprès des sociétés non cotées.  Pour preuve, la Caisse des Dépôts et Consignations a pris l’initiative d’appliquer – et de devancer- la loi dans l’ensemble de ses participations – 200, près d’un an en avance. Un dispositif a ainsi été mis en place, sous l’égide de sa direction générale, pour permettre au management d’identifier des femmes à haut potentiel et les accompagner (formation) dans leurs prises de mandats.

Un exemple qui devrait en inspirer d’autres, puisque la loi concerne près de 1 700 sociétés en France. A raison, en moyenne, de 10 membres par conseils, ce sont 6 800 femmes qui sont appelées à devenir administratrices à l’horizon de 2017.

Les stratégies de croissance en temps de crise : oser le changement, le témoignage de Denis Terrien, Directeur-général de 3SI

En temps de crise, la croissance appelle systématiquement le changement. Seul le changement peut permettre de dépasser un contexte économique difficile, et s’y opposer est en quelque sorte un refus d’une croissance d’abord porteuse de nouveaux emplois, puis génératrice de profit.

Derrière les leviers du changement se détachent aujourd’hui deux notions : l’innovation et la coopération. L’innovation, pour développer de nouvelles opportunités de marché. La coopération avec des partenaires, pour développer de nouvelles chaînes de valeur plus efficaces et plus robustes en temps de crise – sans pour autant entraver la concurrence. Le nouveau paradigme économique nécessite aujourd’hui que les acteurs de marché évoluent et évoluent vite ; en évoluant groupés, ils démultiplient leurs moyens d’actions et leur capacité de croissance tirée par l’innovation.

Derrière la capacité à évoluer, il y a d’abord l’audace de dirigeants qui n’hésitent pas à changer de modèle économique lorsque la situation le requiert. C’est le cas de 3SI (3 Suisse International) qui, arrivé tardivement sur le marché du commerce sur Internet, a décidé de modifier complètement sa stratégie.  Ainsi, en l’espace de quelques années, l’entreprise de commerce sur Internet est devenue une société de services à part entière, passant d’un modèle BtoC à un modèle BtoC et BtoB.

Le secret de cette impressionnante reconversion réussie ? La stratégie audacieuse d’un dirigeant, Denis Terrien, qui a décidé de capitaliser sur les acquis forts de son entreprise – activité de conception de catalogues, activité de gestion des appels, activité logistique … – pour en faire des offres à proposer à ses propres concurrents. En devenant le maillon d’une nouvelle filière, plutôt qu’un acteur mineur d’un marché largement concurrentiel, 3SI s’est redonné les moyens d’une croissance durablement profitable. Un bon exemple à suivre en ces temps difficiles.

Dominique Druon, 15 octobre 2012

credit
© 2012 Aliath - Tous droits réservés